Welcome to the National Commission for Research, Science and Technology.

Fostering Excellence through Knowledge and Innovation

"As we go forward, we will seek to be transactional in maintaining and strengthening the governance architecture, but we will also be transformational as we prepare the citizens for the new economy that requires the development of new parameters in education, innovation, and enterprise", - His Excellency, Dr Hage Geingob, President of the Republic of Namibia

read more

Latest News

Declaration of Products Derived from or Containing Genetically Modified Organisms for Purposes of the Biosafety

Declaration of Products Derived from or Containing Genetically Modified Organisms for Purposes of the Biosafety ACT, 2006 (ACT NO. 7 OF 2006) A

Female Businesses in Biosciences - Fembiobiz II Acceleration Programme

Ms Lovisa Kambonde- Immanuel (NCRST),Ms Nina Louw (RMB),Ms Ndahekelekwa Paulus (Winner) 4TH PLACE, Ms Mary Shikukutu (Winner) 2ND PL

National Space Science Council Established

05 Mar 2015


The National Commission on Research, Science and Technology (NCRST) has recently established a National Space Science Council (NSSC), as mandated by Section 19 of the Research, Science and Technology Act no 23 of 2004.


The overall mandate of the NSSC will be to facilitate the developmental of a national agenda related to Space Science in all sectors. This may include national space policy development, provide a strategic direction on matters related to Space Science e.g. ethics in space science research, identify space activities relevant to Namibia, and promote space research and development. The Council may also perform functions such as:


·       Enhance, recognize, develop, and promote the value and the role of space Science and Space Technology for development

·       Facilitate the integration of Space Science into the Education Curriculum

·       Setup mechanisms for human capacity development in Space Science and Space technologies in Namibia

·       Promote space science research

·       Assist and advise the government on national space policy and strategy


“We are pleased to welcome our newly appointed members of the National Space Science Council, and look forward to their work. We are delighted that the appointed members are persons who are bringing skills and experience from fields such as Astronomy and Astrophysics, Geographical Information Systems, and Telecommunication and Electronics”, said Prof Andre du Pisani, Chairperson of the NCRST during the inaugural meeting of the NSSC members at the NCRST Head Office in Windhoek.


The following Council member have been appointed in the respective sectors and will commence duty as of March 2015:

·       Mr Lisho Christof Mundia

·       Dr Riaan Steenkamp

·       Mr Laban Hiwilepo

·       Mr Ashraf Ghania NCRST Establishes National Space Science Council